Cagayan State University

CSU shifts school opening to August

By the UPDO-MIS Staff

Posted on May 20, 2016

The Cagayan State University is now in sync with the other big universities in the region and in other parts of the globe.

All its colleges in eight campuses-Aparri, Carig, Andrews, Lasam, Lal-lo, Sanchez Mira, Piat and Gonzaga-will start classes yet in August effective School Year 2016-2017.

The shift was approved by the CSU Board of Regents in a referendum following the student and faculty consultations done.

This decision does not cover the College of Law in Andrews and the laboratory high schools in Sanchez Mira and Gonzaga campuses.

In the calendar of activities signed by Dr. Mariden Ventura-Cauilan, vice president for academic affairs and officer in-charge of the Office of the University President, the College of Law will start holding classes in June “pending the result of the consultations with other law schools.”

Laboratory high schools begin classes in June to “synchronize with the DepEd schedule.”

Under the new academic calendar, first semester begins on August 8 and ends on December 16. Second semester will commence January 16 and wind up on May 20. CSU summer classes set in on June 19 and cease July 28.

We are placing here the copy of the new calendar of activities for other details.

On May 13, Dr. Cauilan in a memorandum officially announced to the academic community the approved shift from June to August.

“The move is for the University to embrace ASEAN Integration and to harmonize with the activities of the other Higher Education Institutions in the country and in the ASEAN Region,” the OIC said.

She said she is confident that the continued support and cooperation of all members of the academic community “will ensure the success of the transition.”

Calendar of Activities for School Year 2016-2017