Cagayan State University

NCR dancesporters rule tilt

By Melou Darilag

Posted on February 09, 2015

Benjamin Legaspi, Rochelle Canoy, Tristan John Ducay and Roan Krystelle Palma of NCR show their best form before judges and dance sports fanatics.

The dancers of the National Capital Region, a four-time holder of dance sports tilt of the National SCUAA Olympics, romped away with the championship trophy for both Latin American (LA) and Standard American (SA) categories of yesterday's dance sports competition held at the Peoples' Gymnasium.

For LA category which includes Jive, Cha Cha Cha, and Rumba, judges declared Rizal Technological University (RTU) dancers Benjamin Legaspi and Rochelle Canoy as the best among 25 pairs who took the dance floor to show off their dance prowess.

Judges declared Shane Marie Gestosani and Justin Nories Bautista, and Darlene Callas and Eric John Colpuz, all from Region 6, as first runner-up and second runner-up, respectively, in this category.

Tristan John Ducay and Roan Kryselle Palma, also from RTU, dominated the SA form—Tango, Waltz and Quick Step--, stopping the aim of the other contestants to snatch the crown from them.

Central Luzon's bets Jerome Dominic O. Perez and Riolin Dela Cruz placed first runner up, while Paulo Rey Recano and Keithleene Donato finished second.

Winning coach Bong Marquez of NCR said this is their fourth victory in a row, and expressed to do even better in the next match.

Region 6 Coach Jertrudez Lopez said her constant guidance and all-out support to her proteges is the secret that explains their victory.

Legaspi and Canoy, who dream to be known not only in the country but also in the international scene, dedicate their feat to their family, coach, school and to God "who gave us the talent to inspire others to inspire."

Ana Yango, NCR's coach for LA, for her part, said what contrinuted much to their performance this year was proper training, adding that the three factors that made them emerge over their opponents were quality, character, and flair.

Judges invited for the tilt included Jose Leo Lingan, Marian Camacho and Lowell Basa Tan.