Cagayan State University

President Quilang sends 35 delegates to AACCUP accreditors' Training on Outcomes-Based Quality Assurance


Posted on June 16, 2015

CSU President Romeo R. Quilang, PhD sent 35 delegates to the New Accreditors’ Training on Outcomes-Based Quality Assurance held at the Tarlac State University (TSU) on June 8-11, 2015.

This is part of the President’s continuous support to the accreditation efforts of the University with the Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities of the Philippines, Inc. (AACCUP), the host institution and the agency that accredited CSU’s 73 programs, 37 of which are awarded Candidate Status, 21 are Level I Accredited Status, and 15 with Level II Re-Accredited Status.

The delegation President Quilang sent to the first of its kind training in the entire Luzon was the biggest that completed the 161 trainees from Luzon State Colleges and Universities (SUCs), Dr. Mario Suba, the AACCUP’s training director for Luzon, said.

"We thanked President Quilang for sending the biggest number of trainees to our training. This is a manifestation of his sincere support to quality assurance in higher education," Dr. Suba said.

The 35 trainees listened to the talks on outcomes-based quality assurance, and engaged in exercises and simulations on the conduct of a preliminary survey visit using AACCUP’s new instrument on outcomes-based accreditation.

On the third day of the event which had Suba, his counterparts in Visayas and Mindanao, Dr. Raul Muyong and Dr. Nenita Prado, and AACCUP Founding President and Executive Director Dr. Manuel Corpus as speakers, the trainees went through oral and written examination to determine their preparedness for actual accreditation and to complete the requirements of the accreditors’ training.

Engr. Mary Jane Calagui, a faculty member at the College of Engineering in Carig Campus, placed second in the 95-item written examination that lasted for an hour.

Receiving a certificate of recognition, Calagui, who also delivered the impressions on behalf of the participants during the closing program, scored 82, just a point away from the topnotcher from the National Capital Region’s Eulogio “Amang” Rodriguez Institute of Science and Technology.

Aside from Calagui, the other CSUans who made the University proud were Mr. Ronaldo Sumait, Prof. Jane Umengan, Dr. Remedios Agsawa, Prof. Richard Ayuyang, and Prof. Ian Roger Francisco, all were selected as team leaders during the four-day seminar held at TSU’s Alumni Center.

The other delegates from CSU were Dr. Eduardo Carag, Dr. Haidee Mabborang, Dr. Cora Asco, Dr. Jomel Manuel, Dr. Vilma Conrado, Dr. Maria Maribi Benita Balagan, Dr. Joyce Alejo, Prof. Jennilyn Acupan, Dr. Narcitas Ouano, Dr. Freddie Masuli, Dr. Janelyn Agbayani, Dr. Eunice Layugan, Dr. Margarito Ballad, Dr. Paula Lopez, Prof. Laurine Balatico, Prof. Florina Gonzales, Prof. Dolores Quebral, Dr. Pedro Suyu, Prof. Roel Talattad, Prof. Judelyn Cantor, Prof. Jehan Gerardo, Prof. Ricardo Casauay, Dr. Catherine Caranguian, Dr. Jhoanna Calubaquib, Prof. Dorina Sabatin, Dr. Febe Marl Paat, and Prof. Milagros Suyu, Prof. Amelita Mangwag and Prof. Maita Guadamor.

All received a certificate of completion from the AACCUP.