Cagayan State University

CSU seeks to fill 3 BOR positions


Posted on July 29, 2015

The Cagayan State University is seeking applications for the vacant positions at the CSU Board of Regents (BOR), the highest governing body of the University.

These positions, according to Dr. Roy Morgado, acting board secretary, include two private sector representatives (PSR) vacated by Mr. Ramon Tumaru Jr. and Mr. Juanito De Asis and one alumni representative left by Mr. Cesar Mabbagu.

Interested applicants are urged to send their application letter and curriculum vitae to the Office of the University President at Andrews Campus on or before 10 a.m. of August 21, 2015.

Dr. Morgado said application letters should be addressed to the BOR Chair Dr. Alex B. Brilliantes Jr. through Dr. Romeo R. Quilang, CSU President and BOR vice chair.

He said those who applied previously for the same positions may submit their updated curriculum vitae to the said office.

“For the PSR positions, we are looking for candidates who come preferably from the business and private sector and who has an extensive experience in establishing private-public partnerships needed by the university to increase its external academic, research and extension collaborations,” the acting board secretary said.

The election of the PSRs is tentatively scheduled on Sept. 4-5, 2015 at the Executive Lounge of the Commission on Higher Education National Office in Diliman, Quezon City.

The Board-approved administrative manual of the University provides that there should be two PSRs to serve a term of two years each and an alumni representative, who is usually the president of the University Alumni Association, serving a term co-terminus with his or her term of office stipulated in the association’s constitution.

The CSU-BOR is made up of 12 members. Those who currently sit in the powerful policy making body of CSU are Sen. Pia S. Cayetano, chair of the senate committee on education, arts and culture, and Rep. Roman Romulo, chair of the house committee on higher and technical education.

The regional offices of three key government agencies are represented in the Board through their presents heads: Regional Director Lucresio R. Alviar of the Department of Agriculture, Regional Director Urdujah A. Tejada of the Department of Science and Technology and Regional Director Mary Ann E.R. Darauay of the National Economic Development Authority.

University Faculty Association President Dr. Perfecto V. Vivit serves as the voice of the faculty members of CSU at the Board, while Regent Renz Angelo P. Umambong shares a seat on behalf of the more than 40,000 students of CSU.

The Board meet quarterly to discuss and deliberate essential concerns having to do with CSU governance.