Cagayan State University

ALDebs member snatches best oralist award

By Denmark Orita

Posted on December 16, 2015

This year’s best oralist in the first-ever Moot Court Competition organized by the Claudio Teehankee Center for the Rule of Law and Ateneo Society for International Law and Divina Law on Nov. 26-27 is CSU’s bet.

He is Rafael Dela Cruz, a junior student at the CSU College of Law.

With his other team members Roderick Cipriano, and Joseph Pacallagan, all members of the Athena Law Debate Society (ALDebs), Dela Cruz wowed the judges of his speaking and reasoning ability, and bested other oralists from nine schools in the country.

The schools include University of Santo Tomas, Polytechnic University of the Philippines, Tarlac State University, University of Batangas, University of Cebu- Banilad, University of San Agustin, Ateneo de Zamboanga University and Xavier University- Ateneo de Cagayan.

Lawyer Eric John Calagui coached the CSU team which joined the clash against Ateneo De Zamboanga with the case, “The Haze Crisis on Southeast Somchai: Republic of Megat versus the Federal Republic of Luka.”

Invited as judges were Ambassador Manuel A.J Teehankee, Judge Maria Josefina San Juan- Torres and Justice Assistant Secretary Geronimo Sy, and lawyers Antonia Oposa and Eduardo De Mesa.