By Office of the University President

Posted on June 7, 2023

Senator Sherwin "Win" Gatchalian joined the CSU community in celebrating its Sapphire Anniversary at CSU Carig Red Eagle Gymnasium today, June 7, 2023. CSU warmly received Senator Gatchalian together with CSU’s key benefactors through a grand welcome dance composed of 5,000 students during the Anniversary Opening Program.

Congressman Joseph L. Lara, proponent of the establishment of CSU-Solana, delivered the welcome remarks, where he expressed how proud he is to be part of the CSU community and how supportive the academic administration has been in building the 9th campus from start to finish.

In her opening remarks, University President Urdujah G. Alvarado commemorated the humble beginnings of CSU into what it is today - a higher education institution decorated with national accolades, international quality seals, and excellent achievements in producing quality students.

The guest speaker was introduced by Fr. Ranhilio C. Aquino where he regarded Sen. Gatchalian as an advocate of education. This is echoed in his message, where he recalled his education abroad, which shaped his principle that "the blessing of education must be experienced by all."

He recalled the lobbying process for the Free Tuition Law, which now covers CSU. "Kayo na po ang mapalad na nabigyan ng maganda at dekalidad na edukasyon. Huwag sayangin ang oportunidad. Mag-aral ng mabuti at umuwi na dala ang diploma", he advised the students.

In order to further support the cause of education, the Kuya Win Scholarship Program was also launched, which aims to provide financial assistance worth 15,000 php to 667 qualified and deserving CSU students for the next academic year.

The recognition of CSU’s benefactors who supported and assisted the university in its mandate of implementing quality education, relevant research, and timely extension programs was also awarded during the event.

To cap off the program, the launching of the SARABO Exhibit, which features niche-based food products produced by the campuses, was also graced by the honorees.

Contact Us

  • Caritan Sur, Tuguegarao City, Cagayan Valley 3500

  • Phone: (078) 844-0098/0099 Loc. 122

  • Email:

© 2017 Cagayan State University
Site developed and managed by MIS Office and Powered By Bitstop Network Services - Hosting Solutions

  • Official Gazette
  • Comission on Higher Education
  • Department of Budget and Management
  • Commission on Audit
  • Department of Science and Technology
  • Department of Agriculture
  • Civil Service Commission
  • National Economic and Development Authority